• 1-855-LRG-GIST
GIST SARCOMA LIFE RAFT GROUP CANADA

About Us

About US

GIST Sarcoma Life Raft Group Canada (LRG Canada) was incorporated as a not-for-profit Canadian corporation in 2008.  In 2012 registered charity status was granted by both Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Québec. Our Registration Number is 84860-7024-RR0001

We liaise informally with The Life Raft Group (LRG) and other GIST support organizations around the world.  However, there are no financial or institutional connections between LRG Canada and LRG. We are a patient support organization for people with GIST and their family members and caregivers. We welcome new members!

Our Team

Board of Directors

President

David Josephy
Guelph ON
david.josephy@liferaftgroup.ca

Board Members-at-Large

Elliot Sullivan
Fredericton NB
elliot.sullivan@liferaftgroup.ca

Fred Nagy
Montreal QC
fred.nagy@liferaftgroup.ca

Hazel McLeod
Acton ON
hazel.mcleod@liferaftgroup.ca

Michelle Sullivan
Fredericton NB
michelle.sullivan@liferaftgroup.ca

Staff

Director of Member Engagement

Yvonne Nunnaro
Toronto ON
yvonne.nunnaro@liferaftgroup.ca

Treasurer

Malcolm Sutherland
Cobourg ON
malcolm.sutherland@liferaftgroup.ca

Our Mission

The mission of Life Raft Group Canada (LRGC) is to ensure the survival of GIST patients and to assist patients and caregivers in maximizing the quality of their lives.

Our Values

HOPE

The Life Raft represents our message of hope to people affected by GIST

RESPONSIVENESS

We are relentless in our commitment to address the needs of the GIST community

RESPECT

Our belief is that all people should be treated equitably, with consideration and dignity

Our Objectives

AWARENESS

Increase awareness about GIST among the public and healthcare professionals in Canada

EDUCATION

Provide workshops and seminars related to GIST and its treatment

ADVOCATE

Advocate for access to medical treatment for GIST patients and caregivers across Canada

FUND

Financially support, within Canada, activities of research, scholarships, publications and education related to GIST

SUPPORT

Establish support groups for those affected by GIST

Have a question or comment?